Skip to main content

Anywhere: brooklyn and colm (Keywords)

Filter results

Loading...
Alice James [electronic resource] : A Biography
Alice James [electronic resource] : A Biography
Strouse, Jean2011
Books
The Jameses are perhaps the most extraordinary and distinguished family in American intellectual life. Henry's novels, celebrated as among the finest in the language, and William's groundbreaking philosophical and psychological works, have won these brothers a permanent place at the center ...
Brooklyn. [dvd]
Brooklyn. [dvd]
2016
Videos and DVDs
"Brooklyn is the story of a young woman, Ellis, who moves from her small town in Ireland to Brooklyn, NY where, unlike home, she has the opportunity for work and for a future - and love, in the form of Italian-American Tony. When a family tragedy brings her back to Ireland, she finds hers...
Brooklyn [electronic resource]
Brooklyn [electronic resource]
Toibin, Colm2015
Books
Colm Tóibín’s New York Times bestselling novel—now an acclaimed film starring Saoirse Ronan and Jim Broadbent nominated for four Academy Awards including Best Picture—is “a moving, deeply satisfying read” (Entertainment Weekly) about a young Irish immigrant in Brooklyn in the early 1950s.Yo...
The Master [electronic resource]
The Master [electronic resource]
Tóibín, Colm2014
Audiobooks
Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Master by Colm Toibin, read by Geoffrey Howard.In January 1895 Henry James anticipates the opening of his first play, Guy Domville, in London. The production fails, and he returns, chastened and humiliated, to his writin...
The Ninth Hour [electronic resource]
The Ninth Hour [electronic resource]
McDermott, Alice2017
Books
From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn – for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm TóibínOn a gloomy February afternoon, Jim sends his wife Annie out to do the s...
The Slap [electronic resource]
The Slap [electronic resource]
Tsiolkas, Christos2008
Books
To smack or not to smack is the question that reverberates through the interconnected lives dissected in Christos Tsiolkas' award-winning novel, now in paperback. At a suburban barbecue, a man slaps a child who is not his own. It is a single act, but the slap reverberates through the lives of eve...
West [electronic resource]
West [electronic resource]
Davies, Carys2018
Books
West is an exquisite first novel set on the American frontier.Addled by grief after the death of his wife, and prompted by reports of colossal animal bones found in Kentucky, John Cyrus Bellman sets off on his quest, leaving behind his only daughter, Bess, to be cared for by her aunt. While Bel...
0